Gov. Phil Bryant Signs Four School District Consolidation Bills

5/11/2016 in Media, News

JACKSON, Miss. — Gov. Phil Bryant today signed four school district consolidation bills that will merge eight Mississippi school districts into four.​​​​​

“We need to make sure we are as efficient as we can be in state government. That includes making sure we focus on getting resources into the classrooms, where they’re most needed,” Gov. Bryant said.

The four bills that were signed today include:

• HB 987: Consolidates Leflore County and Greenwood school districts

• SB 2495: Consolidates Montgomery County and Winona school districts

• SB 2500: Consolidates Lumberton and adjoining school districts

• HB 926: Administrative consolidation of Holmes County and Durant school districts

All four bills will become law on July 1, 2016.